The course element "Enrolment" is used to let course participants enroll in one or more groups. It is then possible to restrict access to certain documents or to assign group work. Just define in the tab "Configuration" in which and how many groups participants will be able to enroll. When indicating a learning area this area will be offered to all groups. In case you have not already created groups or learning areas or in case you need more, you can perform this by clicking on "Select" and "Create" in the tab "Configuration." You can edit any existing or newly created groups and Learning areas in the Group management. For further information please navigate to the section „Learning area" in the chapter "Course Elements and Course Editor", and the chapter "Groups".
Use the field "Allow multiple enrolments" in order to allow course participants to enrol in more than one, and if so how many, groups.
In the field "Delisting allowed" you can decide if a registered course participant should have the possibility to delist from a group. In the group management you can determine while editing groups if there should be a waiting list and if moving up automatically from that list should be possible.
It is not enough to only select learning areas in the tab "Configuration." These learning areas have to be assigned to groups as well. You should make such assignments in the editor of your course. More detailed information can be found in the section "Learning Areas" in the chapter "Course Elements and Course Editor".
This course element allows you to embed notifications in your course structure. These notifications will be visible in your course as well as in the notifications section of each single user. The message can either be a short info text or an extensive information which is added as attachment (max. 5 MB). During the creation of the notification it can be defined, if the message should be sent by email to certain user groups of the course (subscribers, course owners, coaches, members) additionally.
The number of messages displayed can be determined by the course author along with the period of time during which those notifications shall be available. The maximum number of days determines how long notifications shall be displayed in your course (in days). The maximum number of messages determines how many messages shall be displayed simultaneously in your course.
Display: The maximum number of days determines how long notifications shall be displayed in your course (in days). The maximum number of messages determines how many messages shall be displayed simultaneously in your course.
Subscribe automatically: By default this course element will be automatically subscribed. This option can be deactivated here so that course participants will be able to subscribe to notifications manually.
Messages from notifications course elements can be viewed using the subscriptions tool in the personal menu. Course authors (in a course) can determine the amount of notifications that should be displayed in a course.
By default only course authors and moderators are allowed to create messages. However, all course participants may read messages. In the tab "Access" you can adjust this setting according to your wishes.
The number of characters for the message is limited to 32,000. You will receive information about the number of characters already used in the lower right corner of the message editor. If the permitted number of characters is exceeded, a corresponding message is displayed. Note: The number of actual characters specified differs from the number of visible characters, as the actual number of HTML code is used.
Within this field you can determine any management rights regarding messages. You can e.g. determine on which condition messages should be edited or deleted. If you don't make any amendments your course participants won't have any write permission.
In this field you can manage your write permission regarding messages. You can e.g. determine on which condition messages should be created. If you don't make any amendments your course participants won't have any write permission.
In this field you manage the read permission regarding messages. You can e.g. determine whether messages should only be readable under certain conditions. If you don't make any amendments your course participants will have reading rights.
By means of the course element "E-Mail" you provide your course participants with the possibility to send an e-mail to pre-defined recipients.
There are two possibilities to send messages. You can either select the pre-defined groups of recipients you want to send a message to in the tab "Recipients" or you directly indicate your e-mail addresses. You can select whether you wish to address owners, coaches and /or participants of either course, groups or both.
Distribution to owners/coaches/participants: By checking this box you those member groups you would like to send a message. When selecting coaches or participants, chose in a second step whether you wish to address all members, or either course or group members. (if no box is checked, no mail is sent).
In the fields "Subject (form)" and "Message (form)" you can optionally pre-define default values to be edited later on by your course participants when sending e-mails.
By means of the course element "Calendar" you can embed a course calendar in the course structure. It is also possible to add several instances of the same calendar to the course.
This course element offers an alternative view on the course calendar to be found in the course toolbar. Only course authors and moderators are allowed to create calendar entries by default. However, all course participants are able to read entries. In the tab "Access" it is possible to adapt these settings according to your needs. In the tab "Calendar configuration" you can decide which date should be displayed when a course calendar is activated from the course structure. Course calendars will automatically be added to the personal calendars of the course members.