Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

In this form you can activate or deactivate file versioning of the folder module. If versioning is active, files will not be overwritten but saved as a new version (commonly known as revision). Older versions of a document can be downloaded or restored if necessary. Deleted files will appear in a corresponding list and can be restored as well. If the versioning feature is activated files can also be locked, e.g. in case someone editing a document wants to prevent others from creating a new version in the meantime.

Versioning is available in all system folders: personal folders, group folders, course folders, resource folders, as well as in the course elements 'Folder'.

In order to globally activate versioning on this system, please select from the list the number of allowed versions per file or choose the option "Unlimited" to allow any number of versions for one document. Some restricting might be reasonable to limit the required storage space.

In order to globally deactivate versioning on this system please select "Versioning deactivated" by Number of versions. 

Versions of deleted files will not automatically be deleted because of compatibility issues with WebDAV. You can delete them manually.


Calculate size: This button calculates the amount of storage used be versioning at the moment. 
List orphan versions: All documents which are manually deleted or for whom no more versioning is available are met in some kind of trash. There they can be restored, but they still use the same amount of storage. With "List orphan versions" all these versions can be shown. 
Delete orphan version: All documents which are manually deleted or for whom no more versioning is available are met in some kind of trash. There they can be restored, but they still use the same amount of storage. With "Delete orphan version" this trash is deleted. The versions cannot be restored anymore, but does not need any storage either. 
Cleanup versions: The versioning can be adapted with the Number of versions. If for example it number is changed from 5 to 2 versions, 3 versions are spare. But they will not be deleted directly. If you change the number to 5 versions again, they will be visible again. To delete these versions definitely you click on "Cleanup versions". These versions cannot be restored afterwards anymore. 
  • No labels