Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 2 Next »

In addition to the course editor and course tools there are other features at your disposal. A corresponding link to those course features can be found in your course on your right in the section "General information."

Not all course features are generally active. If you cannot see a certain link to such a course feature it has to be activated first (cp. the descriptions in the following sub-chapters).

Course Calendar

Each course has its own course calendar to be able to administer course events. Only course owners have the write permission regarding that calendar. Course participants only have the permission to read; they cannot create new events or edit existing ones.

You can also link events to a certain course element. Just select the corresponding course element in the tab "Link" when creating or editing an event.

An example for such a link is to combine a certain deadline with the relevant course element "Task."

When subscribing to a course calendar that calendar will be copied to the calendar list of your personal calendar; course events will be displayed there for you.

In the course calendar there will also be events regarding groups if you are member of such a group. In the group management you can determine write permissions and visibility in group calendars.

If you do not want to use a course calendar you can deactivate it in the detailed view of your course; just click on "Modify settings" in the tab "Calendar."

Course Chat

By default there is a chat room for each course, the so-called course chat. It can be used as informal platform to exchange information or as forum for experts; course authors can determine a certain time to answer questions of their course participants.

When entering the chat room your name will not be displayed. Only if you select your name in the "Participants" section will your real be on display.

If you do not want to offer a course chat you can deactivate it in the detailed view of your course by selecting "Modify settings" in the tab "Course chat."

Glossary

A glossary serves to explain terms to be found in your course. Texts of a course will be searched for glossary terms; results will be marked accordingly. When moving the cursor over such a term its definition will be displayed.

If you want to use such a glossary in your course you have to create one first in learning resources. A corresponding link can be found on your right in the tool box "Create." In the tab "Term and synonyms" you can determine the technical terms to be explained as well as these terms' synonyms. In the tab "Flexions" you can also identify flexions of a term if a "Morphologic service" is available. Course participants will not only be able to see a term's definition when moving the cursor over that term (e.g. referendum) but also when moving it over that term's flexions (e.g. referendums, referendum's). In the tab "Definition" you can finally comment on these technical terms.

After creating your glossary open the detailed view of your course and select that glossary in the tab "Glossary," section "Modify settings." In your course there will be a link to that glossary; course participants will be able to activate or deactivate it.

The alphabetical index of the glossary can be deactivated in the section "Alphabetical index" in the detailed view of your glossary. The section "Write permissions" allows you to activate write permissions for all system users, thus creating a collaborative glossary.

In order to allow only course participants to add or edit such glossary terms, disable the write persmissions for all users, create a corresponding right group and allow that group to use the glossary tool.

If you do not need a glossary anymore or if you want to use another one you can modify your settings in the detailed view of your course via "Modify settings" in the tab "Glossary." Per course only one glossary is allowed.

Evidence of Achievement

An evidence of achievement is the confirmation of an efficiency control and can include taken tests or submitted and assessed tasks. If you want to use such evidences in your course you can either open the detailed view of your course and select this option in the tab "Evidence of achievement," section "Modify settings", or you can enter the assessment tool of the course and navigate to the menu item "Evidence of achievement".

The according link will only appear in your course if there is also an assessable course element. This link cannot be operated as long as course participants have not taken a test or the assessment of a task is still lacking.

If you do not want to offer evidences of achievement anymore you can either deactivate this option in the detailed view or the assessment tool of your course, as described above.

Evidences already existing will then no longer be visible. As soon as you offer this option anew your participants can dispose of their evidences along with new data. If you choose to delete a course that contains evidences of achievement your users will still be able to see their own evidences.

  • No labels